ALBUM REVIEW: The Iron Roses – The Iron Roses


Anyone who has ever screamed along to every word of Boysetsfire‘s biggest anthem “Rookie” knows Nathan Gray can deliver messaging, intensity and hooks in equal parts, but only until recently they weren’t living their full truth showing all the facets of themself to the public. After backing Nathan on a sort of solo-band journey of self-discovery, newer project The Iron Roses have found their full potential as well under their own name and elevating everyone (all six!) to equal prominence on one of the most jubilant, socially potent and catchy punk records you’ll ever hear.

Continue reading

Psycho Las Vegas Loses Some Bands Due to Visa and Pandemic Issues

In a story we have been following, Psycho Las Vegas has announced that bands such as Mayhen and Satyricon have dropped off the upcoming metal festival later this month. This is due to ongoing travel/work visa and pandemic related issues. To their credit, the fest has been dealing complaints and addressing on social media, and in emaisl to ticket holders. Other bands still hoping to gain entry into the USA to perform include Efforts are continuing for Emperor, Watain, Crippled Black Phoenix, Cult of Fire, and Psychlona, and we’ll keep tracking this story. Continue reading

Psycho Las Vegas Announces 2021 Fest with Danzig, Mercyful Fate, Katatonia, Ulver, Emperor, WITTR, and More

Psycho Las Vegas has announced their return in the summer of 2021. If you had tickets for this year, you are in luck! Most of the lineup will return next year, except Rebel Motorcycle Club, Ty Segall & The Freedom Band, and Crowbar. This still looks like one of the best festivals in the world next year, in a year overpacked with re-scheduled events and tours. See the full lineup below.Continue reading

Psycho Las Vegas 2020 Canceled, Festival Set to Return in 2021

Psycho Swim, Mandalay Bay Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, NV 8/15/19

Psycho Las Vegas has shared the bad news that they have canceled the 2020 festival that was set for August due to ot the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Psycho Las Vegas 2021 has been scheduled to August 19-22, 2021. “Nearly all the bands” have agreed to return for the 2021st dates. The full announcement is expected after they confirm those last bands. Continue reading

Danzig, Emperor, Mercyful Fate, The Flaming Lips, Down, Mayhem, Satyricon and More are Booked for Psycho Las Vegas 2020

Psycho Las Vegas is returning for another round in the desert of Las Vegas at Mandalay Bay this summer on August 14th to 16th. Headlining will be Danzig, Emperor, Mercyful Fate, The Flaming Lips, Down, Mayhem, Satyricon, Blue Oyster Cult, Warpaint, Blonde Redhead, Ty Segall, Watain, Ulver, Thursday, At the Gates, Poison The Well, Cursive, Pinback, Boris, Windhand, Brutus, Mgla, boysetsfire, This Will Destroy You, Kaelan Mikla, Bombers, Mephistofeles and many more. High Roller 3-day VIP is already sold out, but general 3 -Day and pre-party Psycho Swim passes are on sale now at these links:

Continue reading

BoySetsFire Re-Releasing The Misery Index: Notes from the Plague Years On Vinyl


BoySetsFire is releasing a vinyl edition of their 2006 release The Misery Index: Notes from the Plague Years on January 13, 2014 via Bridge9 Records. Originally released on Equal Vision Records in North America and Epitaph imprint Burning Heart internationally, the record appeared on Billboard’s Top Heatseekers and Top Independent Albums charts and expanded the band’s sonic palette (piano, string instruments, horn sections) beyond their already adventurous, aggressive and melodic sound.

1) Walk Astray
2) Requiem
3) Final Communique
4) The Misery Index
5) 10 and Counting
6) Falling Out Theme
7) Empire
8) So Long…And Thanks for the Crutches
9) With Cold Eyes
10) Deja Coup
11) Social Register Fanclub
12) Nostalgic for Guillotines
13) A Far Cry

boysetsfire - the misery index

Bridge Nine Records Releasing xXx Fanzine: 1983-1988 Book


Bridge Nine Records will be releasing xXx Fanzine: 1983-1988, a book documenting the sounds of Hardcore America, plus an album with artists such as Strife (doing “Who Are You” by Void), Done Dying (featuring legendary No For An Answer frontman, Dan O’Mahony), BoySetsFire, Enabler, ÆGES, Gallows, Krum Bums and I Am Heresy have all recorded tracks for the effort with many more currently booking studio time for the effort. A full track listing will be announced shortly.

“As much as hardcore was an expression of artistry, ambition and rage, it also fostered some of the best and purest songwriting in recent rock ‘n’ roll history,” says xXx editor and main writer, Mike Gitter. “You can’t deny some of the massive songs people like Greg Ginn [Black Flag] or Bob Mould [Hüsker Dü] were capable of. Those songs still thunder as loud today as when they were originally committed to vinyl.”

The compilation will be presented in several formats. All editions of the book will include a download card. However, a limited number of books will include a 12” vinyl version of the comp.

Work on the book itself is nearing completion with last interviews and liner notes currently being assembled with the help of Bridge Nine owner Chris Wrenn in the editor’s seat. In the meantime, keep up with xXx Fanzine on Facebook.

I Am Heresy – Thy Will

i am heresy thy will album cover


The term metalcore has been bastardized beyond the days when it applied to bands like Stampin’ Ground, who espoused the virtues of hardcore with a huge metal bent to now mean any band that combines shouting verses with clean choruses and/or with widdly leads (to show their love of metulz) and breakdowns (to be down wiv da kidz) as interchangeable as the slew of bands that play them. I Am Heresy, the brainchild of vocalist Nathan Gray (Boysetsfire) and featuring his son Simon Gray on guitars, belong in both camps: that which “metalcore” used to encompass, and parts of what it does now, equal parts metal, hardcore and a mix of melody and aggression and sound like what I always wanted Architects to sound like, but is the better for the fact that Architects don’t actually sound like this.

Thy Will (Century Media) kicks off with punchy and violent ‘Rahabh’, 3 minutes of what Slayer should have sounded like on Undisputed Attitude, before ‘Our Father’ punks out open chords in a Bring Me The Horizon fashion, moving into the more melodic ‘March Of Black Earth’ where Gray Sr opens up his clean vocals for the first time. ‘Destruction Anthems’ returns to the temple of Slayer, all Seasons In The Abyss being covered by Sick Of It All, ‘Thy Will II (Black Sun Omega)’ is a mix of As I Lay Dying and Killswitch Engage and tasteful mid-album break ‘Alarm’ would sit beautifully on an Ancient VVisdom release.

But at 13 tracks, they spread themselves too thinly with too many fillers for one record and their potential and sound isn’t fully realized throughout (for example ‘Blasphemy Incarnate’ is stock, ‘As We Break’ is all chorus and no song, the riffs of ‘Hinnom II’ close in on Avenged Sevenfold territory and serves as a weak closer). But make no bones, when this melodic metal/hardcore mesh works, it shows I Am Heresy are capable of creating some engaging music, at times aggressive, at others catchy and often both, with personal favourite ‘Seven Wolves And The Daughters of Apocalypse’ a nice summary of the whole.



I Am Heresy on Facebook