Respire Drop Their Single and Video “The Sun Sets Without Us” – New Album Incoming

Toronto-based collective, Respire, have just dropped their latest single, “The Sun Sets Without Us,” along with a music video. It is the third track to be taken from their upcoming new album, Hiraeth, arriving July 26th, on limited-edition vinyl and digital formats, via Dine Alone Records. Catch the new video and more below.
Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: The Dirty Nil – Free Rein To Passions


Ah, the age-old balance between the jagged, dirty edges of rock and the polish, apparently, required to make a commercial success of this left of mainstream universe we all inhabit. Get it right, and radio and playlists and such stardom-related “things” await… yet, to play that game too much and for too long is to risk losing the soul and joy that is at the heart of the art that got you there in the first place. So, seemingly as a response to the more contrived, collaborative, and involved process that led to their predecessor Fuck Art, alternative rockers The Dirty Nil have given themselves over to their natural instincts, indulging a Free Rein To Passions (Dine Alone) on their fourth album. 

Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: … And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – XI: Bleed Here Now – Dine Alone Records

Some people don’t like surprises – they prefer things predictable, just so. But what would life be without surprises? I was surprised, for instance, when my good friend Ajax recited the closing lines of The Great Gatsby, at 4 AM, after a vat of cocktails (sours, rickeys, alexanders, the lot). 

Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: Alexisonfire – Otherness

Over a decade has passed since Alexisonfire last blessed our ears with Old Crows / Young Cardinals. A hiatus, a pandemic, some single and multiple festival performances later, and the post-hardcore legends are back with their fifth full release: Otherness (Dine Alone). 

Continue reading

Mantra – Dreamland

The latest in the long line of Alternative Rockers are Mantra, a British trio who formed three years ago. This year sees the release of their debut album Dreamland (Dine Alone Records), produced by Tom Dalgety whose body of work ranges from Ghost and Opeth to The Pixies and Royal Blood – with the latter two providing the inspiration here.Continue reading

The Dirty Nil – Master Volume

The Dirty Nil’s debut album Higher Power (Dine Alone) felt like a genuine shot in the arm for both punk and rock alike and there was so much attitude and swagger on show the band garnered much deserved praise. Add to that the fact that the band’s live shows built upon the raucous foundations of the album, and the sky appeared to be the limit for them. Thus we come to that much talked about benchmark for many bands… that being the “difficult” follow up, and, interestingly, their second album Master Volume (Dine Alone) both improves and disappoints in equal measures.Continue reading

Legend Of The Seagullmen – Legend Of The Seagullmen

The world is awash with Heavy Metal supergroups. But the pool of mega-star filled bands that actually delivered anything of real quality, however, is shallow indeed. Luckily, Legend of the Seagullmen might just be one of the weirdest super groups to deliver an album drowning in quality.Continue reading

Tool/Mastodon Supergroup, Legend Of The Seagullmen, Release Their Second Song

Tool drummer Danny Carey and Mastodon guitarist/vocalist Brent Hinds got together back in 2015 to form Legend Of The Seagullmen. Last month they revealed the band’s full lineup, and announced that their self-titled debut album will finally be hitting stores on February 9th. Along with that announcement came the ‘Shipswreck’ single, and today we have another new song for your lucky ear holes. Continue reading

Dead Heavens – Whatever Witch You Are

It’s always interesting to see when musicians jump from project to project and do a complete musical 180 in the process. But from hardcore punk to psych blues is novel one.Continue reading

Vanishing Life Debuts New Single, Debut Album Out Tomorrow


Punk rock supergroup Vanishing Life which counts members of Rise Against!, Quicksand, …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Gorilla Biscuits and Bad Religion, have their début album Surveillance dropping tomorrow from Dine Alone Records. Check out new single ‘Thinking Weightless’ below:Continue reading