ALBUM REVIEW: Insect Ark – Raw Blood Singing

On Raw Blood Singing (Debemur Morti Productions), Insect Ark returns with an otherworldly and compelling sci-fi landscape of noir, subtle menace and mystery.  Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: Khanate – Clean Hands Go Foul – Capture and Release

Having reemerged from its dank void of horror to release To Be Cruel in 2023, deconstructed-avant-doom entity Khanate continues to be pulled piece-by-piece from the mud, as the band’s third and fourth records — 2005’s Capture & Release and 2009’s Clean Hands Go Foul (Sacred Bones Records) — get shined and buffed for physical reissues. Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: Khanate – To Be Cruel – Sacred Bones Records


Seemingly coming out of the blue — like the sudden emergence of a horrible memory buried for years — drone doom supergroup Khanate returns with To Be Cruel (released digitally on May 19th and on physical formats on June 30th via Sacred Bones Records) the group’s first album since 2009’s Clean Hands Go Foul. Shrouded in secrecy prior to its release, To Be Cruel delivers three tracks and 62 mins of harsh, cold, sparse, experimental sounds fit to ruin any good day. 

Continue reading

News: Blind Idiot God Confirm Upcoming European Tour

blind idiot god pic

Blind Idiot God has confirmed an upcoming European tour in April 2016. Dates are posted below. The band features Andy Hawkins on guitar; Tim Wyskida (Khanate, Jodis, Plotkin & Wyskida) on drums; Will Dahl on bass (though founding member Gabe Katz plays bass on the album).

Apr 13: Vera – Groningen (NL)
Apr 14: Magasin 4 – Brussels (BE)
Apr 18: Sonic Ballroom – Cologne (DE)
Apr 19: Bad Bonn – Duedingen (SI)
Apr 20: Serraglio – Milan (IT)
Apr 21: Freakout Club – Bologna (IT)
Apr 24: Cassiopeia – Berlin (DE)
Apr 27: Blast – Trondheim (NO)
Apr 28: Pokalen – Oslo (NO)
Apr 29: Hulen – Bergen (NO)
Apr 30: Folken – Stavanger (NO)

blind idiot god before ever after

Blind Idiot God Releasing Before Ever After

blind idiot cd

Blind Idiot God (BIG) will release their new album Before Ever After in early 2015 via Indivisible Music. The record was co-produced by Bill Laswell. The gatefold double-vinyl LP artwork was created by noted artist Seldon Hunt (Neurosis, Earth, Melvins, Sunn).

Blind Idiot God is Andy Hawkins on guitar and Tim Wyskida (Khanate) on drums. Gabe Katz, the band’s original bass player is featured on the album but moving forward Will Dahl is the band’s new bass player live and in the studio. Touring in support of the new album is planned for 2015.

Hawkins says:

“Moving from the studio to the stage is always great. The music opens up dynamically, both performance wise and sonically. The human ear has a much greater dynamic range than any recorded medium and we excel at taking full advantage of that fact.”

Before Ever After tracklisting
01. Twenty Four Hour Dawn
02. Night Driver
03. Antiquity
04. Earthmover
05. FUB
06. Barrage
07. High and Mighty
08. Voice of the Structure
09. Under the Weight
10. Ramshackle
11. Wheels of Progress
12. Strung
13. Shutdown