VIDEO: Bryan Black of Black Asteroid Discusses His “Infinite Darkness” – Electronic Music, and More

In this episode, Bryan Black a.k.a. Black Asteroid chatted with Keefy about his new album “Infinite Darkness” out now via Artoffact Records label! We went deep with him on his entire career, his work with Prince, and many others, leading him to this new release. We delved into his creative process, different approaches to recording and performing, writing for guest collaborators such as Ian Astbury of The Cult, and much more!Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: The Cult – Under The Midnight Sun

Nearly forty years have passed since vocalist Ian Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy first teamed together, settling on the moniker of The Cult for their musical entwinement, and, while it has been a partnership that has to endure critical and commercial highs and lows, come 2022, and Under The Midnight Sun (Black Hill) their eleventh album, the epithet that class is permanent has rarely rung so true. Continue reading

A Celebration Concert Marking David Bowie’s Life will feature Trent Reznor, Billy Corgan, Gavin Rossdale, Perry Farrell, Joe Elliot, and More!

To mark not only the birthday of Rock icon David Bowie, but five years since his untimely death from cancer, a legion of rock stars influences but the music giant will gather on January 8, 2021, for a concert. Mike Garson and producers Stacey Sher and Kerry Brown have joined forces with Rolling Live Studios to produce “A Bowie Celebration: Just For One Day!”, bringing together dozens of Bowie alumni band members spanning Bowie’s career from his 1969 self-titled album to his final album, “Blackstar”, along with many of the world’s most famous voices for a very special experience. The concert will feature performances from Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails), Billy Corgan (The Smashing Pumpkins), Bowie’s good friend and Oscar-winning actor Gary Oldman, Gavin Rossdale (Bush), Perry Farrell (Jane’s Addiction), Joe Elliott (Def Leppard), Grammy-winning Singer Macy Gray, Ian Astbury (The Cult), Lzzy Hale (Halestorm), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Bernard Fowler (The Rolling Stones), Corey Glover (Living Color), Tony-winning rocker Lena Hall, vocal phenom Judith Hill (Grammy winner for “20 Feet From Stardom”), and many more to be announced. Watch a trailer for the event here:

Continue reading

CLASSIC ALBUMS REVISITED: The Cult – “Sonic Temple” Turns 30

The Cult is celebrating thirty years of their classic Sonic Temple (Beggars Banquet). Produced by Bob Rock, the album has a lot is fingerprints on it: huge live drum sounds, choir-like vocal parts, layers of guitar tracks, and a ready-made arena rock sound that suited the band perfectly. Continue reading

Video: The Cult – Hinterland


The Cult, photo credit: Tim Cadiente

The Cult have released a new music video for their new song ‘Hinterland’ from their forthcoming album Hidden City, releasing on February 5th from Cooking Vinyl. You can watch the video at this link or below:

Produced by Bob Rock (Metallica), Hidden City was co-written by mainstays Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy. Astbury commented on the video and the concept of the new album:

“Hinterland’s a place both real and imagined, a hidden city symbolic of a new Rome. Through the eyes of several witnesses, we observe a young woman as she realizes her enlightened self in a dystopian dream world. ‘Hinterland’ is filled with symbolism, reflecting a new aeon in the shift of human consciousness as we realign with our planet’s natural rhythms.”

“Hidden City is a metaphor for our spiritual lives, our intimate interior lives. I find today’s gurus are trying to peddle some cure, product or insight as if it’s a new phenomenon. My place is to respond, not react, to observe, participate and share through words and music. There is no higher authority than the heart.”

Hidden City track listing:

01. Dark Energy
02. No Love Lost
03. Dance The Night
04. In Blood
05. Birds Of Paradise
06. Hinterland
07. G O A T
08. Deeply Ordered Chaos
09. Avalanche Of Light
10. Lilies
11. Heathens
12. Sound And Fury

[amazon asin=B017LE03IG&template=iframe image]