ALBUM REVIEW: Static Abyss – Aborted From Reality


To be perfectly frank, the biggest issue with Static AbyssAborted from Reality (Peaceville Records) is that they decided to release the album the same year as Obituary’s recent destroyer, Dying of Everything. It’s been a consistent thorn on the side of Chris Reifert and Greg Wilkinson for quite some time as Obituary has always outshined their most well-known project, Autopsy, as well.

Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: Static Abyss – Labyrinth Of Veins

Chris Reifert (Autopsy, Death) and Greg Wilkinson (also Autopsy, Deathgrave) combined bring sixty-one years of experience to the death-metal scene, the former since 1985 and the latter 1998. It’s only fitting that the two would not only come together to form a new band, but to also unleash an album that immediately sounds simultaneously old-school and deep-rooted.

Continue reading

Hear Two New Songs From Worm Ourboros, New Album Next Month

Worm Ouroborus, photo credit by Veleda Thorsson

Worm Ouroborus, photo credit by Veleda Thorsson

Ethereal American Doom band Worm Ouroboros are streaming two new songs from their upcoming album What Graceless Dawn, due out from Profound Lore on December 3rd. Hear ‘(Was It) The Cruelest Thing’ and ‘Broken Movements’ over at the Profound Lore Bandcamp Page. Continue reading

Abstracter Releasing Wound Empire In February


Oakland metallers Abstracter are releasing their new album Wound Empire on February 10th, 2015, via 12″ vinyl LP through Fragile Branch Recordings (US), Vendetta Records (EU/DE), 7Degrees Records (EU/DE) and Shove Records (EU/IT), on CD by COF Records (formerly known as Church Ov Fuck – UK), on cassette tape co-released by Sentient Ruin in collaboration with An Out Recordings, and digitally again through Sentient Ruin. For the LP, there will be 600 copies pressed, of which 500 will be pitch black and 100 on clear wax with black and grey haze. The CD will be in an edition of 100 hand-assembled, four-panel, gatefold, vinyl-styled cardboard jackets with a 6mm spine and insert. The tape will come in 100 units as a five-panel U-card in a clear Norelco box with a cardboard outer sleeve. The cover art, design and layout on all formats of Wound Empire was handled by the band’s friend Kevin Gan Yuen of Bay Area cult blackened noise miscreants Sutekh Hexen.

Wound Empire Track Listing:
1. Lightless
2. Open Veins
3. Cruciform
4. Glowing Wounds

Wound Empire was recorded and mixed last summer at Earhammer Studios in Oakland, California by Greg “The Wizard of Doom” Wilkinson (Brainoil, Pallbearer, Atriarch, Noothgrush, etc.) and mastered at Audiosiege Mastering studios in Portland, Oregon by Brad Boatright (Wolves In The Throne Room, Nails, Sunn O))), Sleep etc.). The album is undoubtedly a release to look out for in the underground realms of all things heavy and dark, and is a must for fans of Altar of Plagues, Inter Arma, Thou, Samothrace, Amenra, Tragedy, Indian, Wolvhammer, Unearthly Trance and such.

Abstracter on Facebook
Abstracter on Bandcamp