Fogg – High Testament

fogg high testament

High Testament (Tee Pee/Under the Gun Records) is the latest release from Texas fuzz trio, Fogg. They’re a little softer than anticipated but that’s not a bad thing if you’re into that sort of thing. Personally, I like to be moved by what I listen to.

The song ‘Seasons’ is easily my favorite track off the of the album as it’s heavier than the rest, particularly once you hit the 4:05 mark and it turns into something that actually resembles a stoner anthem. That’s when the band just lets the instruments do the talking for them and you start getting the fuzzed out riffs and groovy bass lines that I love.

‘Mountain’ follows suit with a touch of something a little more sinister sounding. The organ really fits in well with this song and adds extra depth and life to the song when the vocals just aren’t enough. That’s not to say that Brandon Hoffman is inadequate in any way, I would just prefer a voice that is less light and fluffy, and a lot more emotion.

If you’re looking for a decidedly chill record, this is a good pick. It’s quiet and soothing, possibly too much, in my opinion. I prefer things to have a little more energy, but when these boys do kick things into high gear, they do it well. It would have been nice to hear more of that rock and roll sound with less of the whole flower child vibe to break up how monotonous the album can be.



FOGG Releasing High Testament on June 23

Photo Credit: M. Letendre

Photo Credit: M. Letendre

Fort Worth, TX power trio FOGG will be releasing their new album High Testament on June 23, 2015 via Tee Pee Records and on cassette via Under the Gun Records, who will co-release the LP version of the album in conjunction with Tee Pee. FOGG features drummer Ethan Lyons, guitarist Chase Jowell and bassist / vocalist Randon Hoffman.

fogg high testament

Track listing:

01: Joy of Home
02: You Are Welcome
03: The Garden
04: Seasons
05: Mountain
06: Hand of The Lord
07: Grass in Mind

FOGG on Instagram

The Skull To Perform At South By Southwest

the skull pic

The Skull, featuring former Trouble vocalist Eric Wagner and bassist Ron Holzner, guitarists Lothar Keller and Matt Goldsborough (ex-Pentagram), and new drummer Sean Saley, will be taking part of the 2015 SXSW Music Festival, set for March 17-22, 2015 in Austin, TX. They will supporting Those Which Are Asleep, which can be streamed here.

the skull tour 2015

THE SKULL tour dates:

Mar 17: The Demo – St. Louis, MO
Mar 18: Downtown Lounge – Tulsa, OK
Mar 19: The Rail – Fort Worth, TX
Mar 20: Dirty Dog – Austin, TX (SXSW w/ Weedeater)
Mar 21: The Lost Well – Austin, TX (SXSW “Heavy Metal Parking Lot II w/ King Parrot, FOGG + more)
Mar 21: Gypsy Lounge – Austin, TX (SXSW Thrasher “Death Match” w/ OM, Goatsnake, The Shrine + more)
Mar 22: The Music Room – Oklahoma City, OK
Mar 23: Riot Room – Kansas City, MO
Apr 17: Rickshaw Theater – Vancouver, BC (As part of Nothing is Heavy Fest (w/ Sacrifice and Ancients)
Jun 26: Cafe 611 – Frederick, MD (As part of Maryland Doom Fest (w/ Spirit Caravan, Apostle of Solitude)

THE SKULL on Facebook: