PODCAST: Glacially Musical Episode #93: Mötley Crüe- “Dr. Feelgood”

The Glacially Musical Pouredcast is a weekly Podcast that has three principles: Beer, Metal, and Swearing (and also Vinyl, NHL, and other topics)! Hosted by Nik Cameron – grown out of the Glacially Musical blog is all about great music and vinyl collecting. Once per week Ghost Cult’s Chief Ghost Cult Keefy joins host Nik Cameron review Mötley Crüe’s “Dr. Feelgood!”

Continue reading

Mötley Crüe Shares “Too Fast For Love” Digital Remaster

Mötley Crüe culminates their 40th anniversary celebrations of digital re-releases with the digital remaster of their debut album Too Fast For Love, arriving exactly 40 years to the original release date of November 10, 1981. They recorded it at Hit City West Studios and made it available via their own label Leathür Records. Too Fast For Love eventually earned platinum status in the US and charting on the Billboard 200. Listen to the album now!

Continue reading

Mötley Crüe to Release 30th Anniversary Reissue of “Dr. Feelgood”

Mötley Crüe celebrated the 30th anniversary of their Dr. Deelgood album yesterday and will release a deluxe edition with a new CD and Vinyl packaging and different merch bundles via their current label, Eleven Seven Music Group. Pre-orders are live at the link below. The huge hit album is widely considered The Crue’s best album, and Ghost Cult shared a retrospective on the release yesterday. With charting hit singles including “Dr. Feelgood,” “Kickstart My Heart,” “Without You,” “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” and “Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.),” Dr. Feelgood has been the band’s biggest album to date. The record has sold more than six million copies in the U.S. alone going 6x platinum, is certified 3x platinum in Canada, Gold in the UK and in Switzerland and spent 109 weeks on the Billboard 200 chart, peaking at #1. The band also earned Grammy nominations for “Dr. Feelgood” (1990) and “Kickstart My Heart”(1991) in the Best Rock Performance category and won Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal album for the record at the American Music Awards (1991). Continue reading

The Temperance Movement – A Deeper Cut

It has been a tumultuous few years for Scottish rockers The Temperance Movement. Founding member and guitarist Lucas Potashnick quit before the release of 2016’s White Bear, with drummer Damon Wilson following his lead soon after. Not to mention lead singer Phil Campbell nearly succumbing to his alcohol and drugs problems again during their American tour. So with replacement members secured, Matt White and Simon Lea on guitar and drums respectively, and long-term producer Sam Miller in place comes their third album A Deeper Cut (Earache) – a genuinely cathartic release of energetic, blues-based rock.Continue reading

Alfahanne – Det Nya Svarta

Alfahanne reminds me of Mötley Crüe circa Theatre of Pain. They had an edgy flair and a taste for real danger, but were a bit vacant when it came to the music. The pseudo black n’ roll found in Det Nya Svarta (Indie) isn’t as compelling or as exciting as the exterior presentation would suggest. And if any Mötley Crüe fans are reading this, Theatre of Pain ain’t that hot. The Crüe found their groove on the very solid Dr. Feelgood (both Elektra).Continue reading