Prolong The Agony – All We Are EP


The south coast of England has recently become renowned for its huge metalcore scene, with thousands of bands aiming to secure a record deal. Hardworking four-piece Prolong The Agony are one of the lucky bands to achieve this, recently signing to In At The Deep End Records. All We Are is their latest offering, and it is safe to say that it will definitely blow you out of the water.

Opening track ‘Dead Dreams’ sets the tone of the EP perfectly: its brutal riffs and technical guitar solos are enough to win metal fans across the spectrum over. Lead singer Larry Welling’s vocals are as heavy as always, but he has definitely stepped up his game for the new release. Just by listening to the first song it’s easy to hear exactly how much effort has gone into All We Are, and it has definitely paid off.

Although many of the songs on this EP feature ‘angry’ lyrics and brutal breakdowns, it has definitely been created in a more mature and skilful way; it’s hard to imagine hardcore dancing or people beating each other up in pits at a Prolong The Agony show. The lyrical content is actually very skilfully written and merges flawlessly with the melodic guitar riffs.

One of the stand-out tracks on All We Are is ‘Backstabbers’. It is anything other than a generic metalcore song, in fact it sounds much more like progressive hardcore. Larry’s powerful vocals contrast seamlessly with the ever-changing pace of the song, proving his versatility.

The raw energy and passion of Prolong The Agony is present in every single song on All We Are, making every song enjoyable to listen to. There are no boring or generic songs, meaning that you can listen to the entire EP without needing to skip a song. Unlike many bands in the metal scene at the moment Prolong The Agony do not need to use any gimmicks or frills, their music speaks for itself.


Prolong The Agony on Facebook


Prolong The Agony sign to In At The Deep End, announce EP & debut album


Prestigious label In At The Deep End, who have been responsible for releasing breakthrough platters from acts such as Sylosis, Feed The Rhino, Suicide Silence and Gallows, have confirmed they have snapped up aggressive metalcore stars-in-waiting Prolong The Agony.

Hailing from Portsmouth, UK, the band have inked a deal with the influential label and are shaping up to release their debut EP All We Are on April 20, with a first full length to follow later in the year.

Frontman Larry Welling added: “Signing to IATDE is something we truly never expected and it’s humbling to say the least. To join a roster (past and present) that have had such an influential impact on the UK music scene, bands that we have personally grown up listening to, is a real honour and one that we’ll always be grateful for. We have huge respect for the way this label conducts itself and its long lasting reputation speaks for itself!”

Listing Parkway Drive and Of Mice & Men amongst their influences the Britcore metallers have paid their dues having wracked up thousands of miles on the road with such acts as Captain, No Captain Chunk!, Iwrestledabearonce, Crossfaith, and Glamour Of The Kill

Prolong The Agony - All We Are

All We Are tracklisting:

1. Dead Dreams
2. Counting The Days
3. Loved & Lost
4. Backstabbers
5. Loveless


Prolong The Agony on Facebook