Joecephus and the George Jonestown Massacre’s MC5 Tribute Album (Alice Cooper, Jello Biafra, Phil Campbell and More) Out Now

On Friday February 2nd the Rock ’n’ Roll world was saddened the passing of “Brother” Wayne Kramer, founding member and guitarist of the legendary, influential Detroit band the MC5. Issued on Black Friday, 2023 via Saustex Records Call Me Animal: A Tribute to the MC5 was never intended as a send-off for Brother Wayne, but his untimely passing makes its recent release feel even more serendipitous. Conceived by Joey “Joecephus” Killingsworth, the album was several years in the making with his band/collective Joecephus and the George Jonestown Massacre and his production partner Dik LeDoux. Kramer himself participated in the project, laying down a smoking version of “Human Being Lawnmower” with Jello Biafra.

Stream the album here.

The album’s 22 tracks feature an all-star cast recruited by Killingsworth that includes: Alice Cooper, Keith Morris (Circle Jerks, OFF!), Zal Cleminson (Sensational Alex Harvey Band, Nazareth), Jello Biafra (Dead Kennedys), Wayne Kramer (MC5), Tex Perkins (Cruel Sea, Beasts of Bourbon), Cherie Currie (The Runaways), Mike Watt (The Minutemen, The Stooges), Lydia Lunch, JD Pinkus (Butthole Surfers), Paul Leary (Butthole Surfers), J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr.), Danko Jones, Kim Thayil (Soundgarden), Brett Bradford (Scratch Acid), Eugene Robinson (Oxbow, Whipping Boy), JG Thirlwell (Foetus), Tommy McLoughlin (The Sloths), Norman Westberg (Swans, Heroine Sheiks), Lisa Kekaula (The Bellrays), Steve Stevens (Billy Idol), Phil Campbell (Motorhead), Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson Band), Jon Mikl Thor (Thor), Chris Holmes (W.A.S.P), Neil Turbin (Anthrax), Johnette Napolitano (Concrete Blonde), Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers), Steve Selvidge (The Hold Steady, Bash & Pop), Jeff Clayton (Antiseen), Ruyter Suys (Nashville Pussy), Jeff Smith (Hickoids), Richie Stotts (Plasmatics), Chris Connelly (Revolting Cocks, Ministry), Robbi Robb (Asylum Kids, Tribe After Tribe), Billy Gould (Faith No More), We Are The Asteroid, Brandon Yeagley (Crobot) and Harold Richardson (Negative Approach).

And as is the case with the Joecephus and the GJM’s other tribute albums this one has a charitable aspect with 20% of net purchases made via Bandcamp (at this link) benefitting Jail Guitar Doors USA. The Los Angeles-based non-profit founded by Kramer is modeled on a similar program founded by Billy Bragg in the UK which seeks to rehabilitate incarcerated individuals with music instruction, therapy and fellowship.

Since its release individual tracks from Call Me Animal have received over a quarter million streams on major platforms. The limited edition Double LP (on color vinyl) and Compact Disc are distributed by Burnside Distribution Corp. and fulfilled by AEC.

Call Me Animal: A Tribute to the MC5 tracklisting:
01 Ramblin’ Rose – ft. Cherie Currie, Mike Watt, J Mascis
02 Kick Out The Jams – ft. Danko Jones, Kim Thayil
03 Rocket Reducer No 62 (Rama Lama Fa Fa Fa) – ft. Eugene Robinson, Brett Bradford
04 Motor City Is Burning – ft. Lisa Kekaula, Phil Campbell, Mickey Raphael, Steve Stevens
05 I Want You Right Now – ft. Lydia Lunch
06 Let Me Try – ft. Tommy McLoughlin
07 Looking At You – ft. JD Pinkus, Paul Leary
08 Call Me Animal – ft. JG Thirlwell, Norman Westberg
09 The American Ruse – ft. Keith Morris, Zal Cleminson
10 Shakin’ Street – ft. Alice Cooper
11 Human Being Lawnmower – ft. Jello Biafra, Wayne Kramer
12 Back In The U.S.A. – ft. Jon Mikl Thor, Chris Holmes
13 I Can Only Give You Everything – ft. Tex Perkins
14 I Believe To My Soul – ft. Neil Turbin, Johnette Napolitano
15 Thunder Express – ft. Jimbo Mathus, Steve Selvidge
16 Sister Anne – ft. Jeff Clayton, Ruyter Suys
17 Baby Won’t Ya – ft. Jeff Smith, Richie Stotts
18 Miss X – ft. Chris Connelly
19 Gotta Keep Movin’
20 Future Now – ft. Robbi Robb, Billy Gould
21 Poison – ft. WE Are The Asteroid
22 Skunk (Sonically Speaking) – ft. Brandon Yeagley, Harold Richardson