Iron Monkey Share New Single and Video for “Misanthropizer” and Announce New Album

UK sludge legends, Iron Monkey, have returned, announcing their new album, Spleen & Goad. It is due out April 05th through Relapse Records, on LP, CD, and digital formats. In addition, the band have unleashed the first single and video from the full-length, “Misanthropizer.” Watch it in the article below and read more from Iron Monkey.

Pre-order Spleen & Goad here.
Stream “Misanthropizer” here.

On Spleen & Goad, the legendary band are as uncompromising as ever, churning out some of the grittiest sounding sludge doom in their twenty-five-plus year history. Iron Monkey lives up to their legacy, absolutely pummeling through each of the nine tracks on their new album. From the two-ton, heavier-than-anything-else riff opening “Concrete Shock,” Iron Monkey shows no signs of easing up; fuzzed out guitars crash against pulse-pounding drums, set against vicious, misanthropic snarls and barks. Elsewhere, tracks like the aptly titled “Rat Flag” kicks the band into high gear with palpable fury and malaise. Recorded in their native Nottingham, Spleen & Goad was mastered stateside by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Spleen & Goad tracklisting:
01 Misanthropizer
02 Concrete Shock
03 C.S.P.
04 Off Switch
05 Rat Flag
06 Lead Transfusion
07 Exlexed
08 The Gurges
09 O.D. Rose

More from Iron Monkey:
Iron Monkey was formed in the year 1994AD in the city of Nottingham, England. The original members were J.P. Morrow, J. Rushby, D. Dalziel, S. Watson, and J. Greaves. Iron Monkey released six tracks of raw sludge-core via the label Union Mill that were later re-released on Earache Records. During this period S. Watson was replaced by D. Berry. 1998 saw the release of the album Our Problem, widely regarded as a masterpiece of negative rock. This was succeeded by a split EP on Man’s Ruin Records with Church Of Misery from Japan. Iron Monkey destroyed itself sometime in 1999. Vocalist J. Morrow died from heart failure in June 2002. Rest In Noise… The band reformed in the winter of 2016 with original members J. Rushby and S. Watson with the addition of the then Chaos UK drummer Brigga. As of 2023, Iron Monkey are back with a new lineup featuring founding member J. Rushby and D. Berry from the Our Problem sessions and ex-Widows drummer Z. Big.

Follow Iron Monkey: