Mares of Thrace Returns to Release “The Exile” Full-Length Album in March

Acclaimed Noise/Sludge/Doom band Mares of Thrace have announced via social media and Bandcamp that they are releasing their long-awaited new album, The Exile, on March 25th, 2022 via Sonic Unyon Records. New music, tracklisting, and pre-orders will be available soon according to further posts on Facebook. While the band doesn’t immediately plan to tour during the pandemic, this is amazing news as the group had released a string of essential albums in 2010s The Moulting, and 2012’s The Pilgrimage. Other than a standalong single single in 2014, this will be their first new music in eight years. Stay tuned to ther socials and Bandcamp for more details to follow. Continue reading

Audio: Rapheumets Well – Planetary Cenotaph, New Album In March

Rapheumets Well The Exile albumm cover ghostcultmag

Rapheumets Well from North Carolina releasing new album The Exile on March 18th through Test Your Metal Records. The first single, ‘Planetary Cenotaph’ is a chaotic wall of sound. You can hear the track at this link or below:


Drummer Joshua Ward comments on the single:

“Planetary Cenotaph, being the last song on the album, was a bit “challenging” for us in terms of composition as we write the music to the story. The main character just destroyed an entire planet. Due to his immortal “curse” he is floating in the stellar remnants of his home-world. While his body is reforming and he is adrift he has a lot of time to think. His wife wife and kids were murdered, his empire betrayed him, he was tortured, he has seen some very wild stuff. He is processing the events in a very numb and displaced way. The emotions of the song actually came from the deaths of family members of the band recently. In the last two years we lost four parents and a grandparent, all within months of each other. So, this became a memorial song to them while keeping to the context of the story. What better way for us to honor someone than to write a metal song!”

The Exile track listing

1. Resurrecting The Blood Gate (4:44)
2. The Blight of Sotath Shal (3:53)
3. The Epic of Darmak (4:59)
4. Crucible of Titans (4:14)
5. Resurgence (6:07)
6. Witch of Dark Spire (5:17)
7. The Exile (6:13)
8. Planetary Cenotaph (5:05)