Health and Tyler Bates Share “Anti-life” ft. Chino Moreno of Deftones from The Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack

As the release of The Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack looms this week, Friday, June 18th, via Loma Vista Recordings (physical LPs out July 16th), there is a new single and visualizer out to feast your ears and eyes upon. Masterminded by Executive Producer Tyler Bates along with Health and Chino Moreno of Deftones have released “Anti-Life” from the album! For Health, this is their second epic team up in a row, following their new song with Nine Inch Nails “Isn’t Everyone” and their last album, also out on the same label, Vol. 4 :: Slaves Of Fear. Pre-orders are live now for the album that features DC Comics-centric songs, sensational mashups, all with Bates’ deft cinematic composing touch.

Continue reading

Mastodon Shares New Song “Forged By Neron” – from The Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack

Mastodon has sharted a brand new song, “Forged By Neron” out today as part of the continued roll-out of The Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack to their animated motion-comics series and popular DC Comics series. Executive Produced By Tyler Bates (“Guardians of the Galaxy,” “Watchmen,” “John Wick”) and out digitally 18th June with a physical version arriving 16th July Via Loma Vista Recordings. Pre-orders are live now at the link below. The soundtrack is a first of its kind, with new original Songs By Mastodon, Manchester Orchestra, Denzel Curry, Soccer Mommy, Health, Carach Angren, GUNSHIP, Idles, Chelsea Wolfe and more. Check out the artwork and the Mastodon song right now!

Continue reading

Sepultura, Ozzy, Megadeth, Ghost, Dream Theater, and More to Be Featured in DC Comics’ Dark Nights: Death Metal Series

With the upcoming international launch of DC Comics’, Dark Nights: Death Metal, seven of the most renowned metal music bands for Dark Nights: Death Metal – Band Edition. Among them, Sepultura will team with artist Pedro Mauro to create the cover for issue #5. Others featured include Ozzy, Megadeth, Ghost, Dream Theater, Opeth and Lacuna Coil. Representing a cross-section of metal music from across genres and generations, each special edition will feature a variant cover spotlighting a different metal band, an introduction from the band, and an exclusive interview.

Continue reading

Marilyn Manson’s “Warship My Wreck” to Be Featured on ‘Dark Nights: Death Metal’ Soundtrack

Composer Tyler Bates will produce and write music for the DC Comics‘ “Dark Nights: Death Metal” soundtrack, an inventive new project featuring songs inspired by the forthcoming seven-part comic book series written by Scott Snyder and illustrated by Greg Capullo. Due out this year via Loma Vista Records, the soundtrack album will also contain animatic score sequences related to each issue of the series that will feature guest musical artists and voice talent. An animated/motion comic music video promoting “Dark Nights: Death Metal” — wrapped up in the 2015 Marilyn Manson song “Warship My Wreck” and you can see it now below!Continue reading

Lacuna Coil Helps Celebrate Batman’s 80th Anniversary with Special Comicbook

Lacuna Coil has teamed up with November by RW Lion, the Italian editor of the American company DC Comics for a very special issue of Batman to celebrate the caped crusader’s 80th anniversary. The band is actually drawn into the special issue of The Dark Nights Metal saga is created by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo and will be released in November, Italian editor of the American company DC Comics. A special illustration by Giuseppe Camuncoli and Riccardo Burchielli, where the band’s power meets the iconic miniseries DC Dark Nights. Lacuna Coil’s latest album Black Anima is out now via Century Media Records and the band will finish the year strong with fall tour dates starting next week with special guests Eluveitie.Continue reading

IKILLYA’s “Bombs Away” Featured In Legends Of Tomorrow

Much loved New York City modern metal band IKILLYA had a spotlight shown on them last week when one of their tracks, ‘Bombs Away’ aired during episode four of the current season of The CW’s Legends of Tomorrow program, set in the DC Comics “Arrowverse”. “Bombs Away’ comes off of IKILLYA’s 2011 album Recon. The band disbanded in 2017 after the release of their excellent War For An Idea album, released via Urban Yeti Records. Nice to see some love for a cool band more people need to hear! The guys in IKILLYA were super-talented, so here’s hoping they pop up eventually in new projects. Continue reading

Nine Inch Nails To Compose The Soundtrack To HBO’s Watchmen Series

Nine Inch Nails duo Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have been garnering respect and awards for the stellar soundtrack work the last few years on projects such as The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Gone Girl, Patriots Day, The Vietnam War, and The Fourth Estate. Now they have been hired to compose original music for HBO’s adaptation of DC Comics’ Watchmen graphic novel series. HBO’s often has legendary composers and soundtrack artists for their programs such as Ramin Djwadi, Jeff Beal, and Wendy and Lisa. Created by Alan Moore (V for Vendetta) Watchmen is one of the most acclaimed graphic novels of all time and the movie adaption in 2009 was fairly well received. The new series from Warner Bros. Television is among HBO’s most-anticipated series for next year. Showrunner/exec producer Damon Lindelof, fresh off of his acclaimed HBO drama The Leftovers. Watchman stars Regina King, Jeremy Irons, Don Johnson, Tim Blake Nelson, Louis Gossett Jr., Andrew Howard, Tom Mison and Frances Fisher.Continue reading

Brann Dailor (Mastodon) Shares First Solo Single – Red Death

Brann Dailor, one of the leaders of prog metal masters Mastodon has shared his first-ever solo song. Released in conjunction with DC Comics to celebrate the release of Dark Days: The Road To Metal. It’s available now in comic book shops and in bookstores and digitally on Tuesday, May 22, 2018. This also marks Dailor’s first collaboration with DC Comics. Hear the track right now! Continue reading