EXCLUSIVE VIDEO PREMIERE: Opus Arise Shares Their New Single and Visualiser for “Timeshift”


Vancouver Orchestral Progressive Metal band Opus Arise has shared a new single and visualizer for the track “Timeshift!” The track comes from their latest album The Network, a futuristic concept album following the classic “hero’s journey” storyline. The instrumental group melds classical music influences with technical progressive metal, and heady concepts sure to captivate listeners. Watch the video now!


As part of the album’s storyline, the band is offering up the next video for the track “Timeshift”. Guitarist Shawn Hillman explains the track’s place in the story:


“As they continue on, the Protagonist’s mastery of his research is demonstrated in his (Timeshift) progression, which will return him home to his time when he plays it. The song timeshift is also about the search that the Protagonist does for his friend, Character 1. He wants to reveal his discovery and return them both home. Unfortunately, after searching for a while, he realizes Character 1 has been doomed to the network. He has been lost in the reminiscence of his past life and has lost touch with reality. There is nothing that can save him, so the Protagonist uses his progression to return home, which continues into the album’s closing track (The Unanswered Question).”



Vancouver, BC’s Opus Arise is an orchestral progressive metal ensemble featuring members of extreme bands Svneatr, Thousand Arrows, and Ysgaroth. Opus Arise unleashed their second full-length “The Network” this past December. It’s a concept record that is a cyberpunk tale that brings together classical strings and metal rhythms to create luscious soundscapes to dissonant chaos. The video for “Timeshift”

Opus Arise’s latest album, “The Network”, is a cyberpunk world filled with neon lights backed by progressive metal riffs and classical themes. The eight-track record was produced and mastered by Maor Appelbaum; mixed by Ryan Shepard, with the album artwork done by Daniel Reyes. The nine players on the record bring forth their skills on guitar, cello, bass, drums, violin, keyboards, viola, and contrabass in a sometimes collaborative effort, which is primarily composed and scored by Matthew Logan and Matthew Hannah. The drums were recorded in a mansion back in 2018 where the original rehearsal space was, and the same location was used to film the music videos for the singles “Reminiscence”, “Change” and “Inner Skepticism”.

“The Network” has a modern metal influence and different composers from their first album. It is best described as orchestral neo-classical instrumental progressive metal and is recommended for fans who enjoy Powerglove, Scale The Summit, and Animals As Leaders.

“The Network” is available at

https://www.opusarise.bandcamp.com, Spotify, etc.


Track Listing:​

1) Inner Skepticism – 5:50

2) Electric Jungle – 6:02

3) Antimatter – 3:22

4) Digital Soundscape – 4:38

5) Reminiscence – 5:21

6) Change – 5:23

7) Timeshift – 5:21

8) The Unanswered Question – 5:13

Album Length: 41:13


Album Band Lineup:​

Shawn Hillman Guitar, Cello on “Digital Soundscape”

James Readman: Guitar

Daniel Carmago: Bass Guitar (Tracks 1-3, 5-7)

Matthew Logan: Drums, Violin II

Matthew Hannah: Keyboards

Michelle Gao: Violin I

Ellen Smith: Viola

Darrell Bennett: Cello

Kyle Hagen: Contrabass, Bass Guitar (Track 8)