Prong Share a Single and Video for Their Cover of Rush Classic “Working Man”

NYC metal greats, Prong, have just shared a video for their version of the Rush classic “Working Man (Regular Version).” A shorter version of the track appears on their latest album State of Emergency, which was released on Steamhammer/SPV in October of 2023. Read our recent tour coverage from the band and their tour with Voivod! Head into the article below to watch the new video and read more from Prong.

Stream “Working Man (Regular Version)” here:
Get State of Emergency here:

Commenting on Prong’s version of “Working Man (Regular Version),” main man Tommy Victor had this to say:
Rush had the big riffs and that’s something Prong always wants as well. Especially in the song “Working Man” with that all-time classic opening riff. We have a new lyric video for the regular version of “Working Man”. It’s a bit industrial and trippy at the same time. Check it out!

State of Emergency is a furious tableau of East Coast aggression, enveloped in that classic Prong sound that never goes out of style. Tommy Victor outlines the stylistic direction of the eleven songs that make up State of Emergency:
It’s a very ‘Prong’ record. I think it’s totally genre-transcending and definitely ignores what’s going on out there these days,

Commenting about his artistic approach on State of Emergency, Victor says: “I like all kinds of music. This record totally reflects that because it covers lots of different angles. At the same time, State Of Emergency is very guitar-oriented and a typical example of my style.

Produced by the skillful hands of legendary producer Steve Evetts (Sepultura, The Dillinger Escape Plan), State of Emergency surprises on the post-punk track “Disconnected” and then grooves on the title track. Originally released as a standalone single in early 2023, “Breaking Point” takes no prisoners with honest lyrics and a cutting attitude, while hard-hitting “The Descent” is a lightning-quick, classic ripper. “Back (NYC)” has Victor saying: “To me, it’s as if Jimmy Page wrote a song playing through Dimebag’s amplifier, with Henry Rollins singing. Kind of a weird experiment for sure!

State of Emergency tracklisting:
01 The Descent
02 State of Emergency
03 Breaking Point
04 Non-Existence
05 Light Turns Black
06 Who Told Me
07 Obeisance
08 Disconnected
09 Compliant
10 Back (NYC)
11 Working Man (Regular Version) (RUSH Cover)

Follow Prong: