Listen to Rodrigo y Gabriela Cover Metallica Deep Cut – “The Struggle Within”

Metallica has shared a previously unreleased cover by Rodrigo y Gabriella of “The Struggle Within” from the upcoming Black Album Blacklist record (Blackened Recordings). The Blacklist is a massive tribute album by Pop and Rock stars the world over. Metallica aka “The Black Album” – sees a re-release this week in the form of The Black Album Remastered. Due out September 10th from Blackened Recordings. Jason recently did an unboxing for the set, which you can also see below. To celebrate thirty years of the biggest-selling album in rock or metal history, the band has long teased a celebration for their commercial blockbuster Metallica aka “The Black Album”  all year. It is  the best-selling album in the history of Nielsen SoundScan, outselling every release in every genre over the past 30 years. Now they have announced a massic digital, CD, and DVD – Blu-ray release. To commemorate its 30th anniversary, the Grammy-winning, 16-times-platinum-certified Black Album is receiving its definitive re-release. Remastered for ultimate sound quality, The Black Album remaster will be available in multiple configurations including 180-gram double vinyl LP, standard CD and 3 CD expanded edition, digital, and limited edition deluxe box set (containing the album remastered on 180-gram 2LP, a picture disc, three live LPs, 14 CDs (containing rough mixes, demos, interviews, live shows), 6 DVDs (containing outtakes, behind the scenes, official videos, live shows), a 120-page hardcover book, four tour laminates, three lithos, three guitar picks, a Metallica lanyard, a folder with lyric sheets, and a download card).  Pre-orders are live at the link below.









Much more than a mere tribute album, “The Metallica Blacklist” celebrates the enduring influence of this musical milestone with one of the most ambitious projects ever conceived by the Metallica team: An unprecedented 50+ artists spanning an unbelievably vast range of genres, generations, cultures, continents and more, each contributing a unique interpretation of their favorite Black Album cut.


“The Metallica Blacklist” offers up new dimensions of the record whose gravitational pull first drew the mainstream to Metallica — and provides new insights into the universal and timeless appeal that kept it there: the boundary-smashing influence these 12 songs have had on fans and musicians of all stripes. “The Metallica Blacklist”‘s 53 tracks find singer songwriters, country artists, electronic and hip hop artists sharing their love of these songs alongside punk rockers, indie darlings, icons of rock, metal, world music and many, many more… and for 50+ good causes: Profits will be divided evenly between charities of the artist’s choice and Metallica’s All Within My Hands foundation.


“The Metallica Blacklist” is a fitting and limitless homage, one that features bands who’ve shared stages with Metallica alongside artists who are younger than the original album. It’s a truly staggering, at times mystifying assemblage of musicians, dozens of whom have little to nothing in common other than the shared passion for the music that’s united them for this album: 1 Album. 12 Songs. 53 Artists. Unlimited Possibilities.


“The Metallica Blacklist” will be available in formats including digital, four-CD and a limited-edition seven-LP vinyl pressing. Pre-orders will instantly receive multi-platinum selling recording artist, songwriter, philanthropist and trailblazer Miley Cyrus’s version of “Nothing Else Matters” featuring Andrew Watt, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo and Chad Smith, and Colombian-born rock/pop superstar, and winner of 20+ Grammy and Latin Music Grammy Awards Juanes’s interpretation of “Enter Sandman”.


All profits from “The Metallica Blacklist” will be split evenly between the All Within My Hands foundation and 50+ charities chosen by the artists who play on the album. All Within My Hands was founded by the band in 2017 as a way for the entire Metallica family to give back to communities that have supported the band by supporting workforce education, the fight against hunger, and other critical local services.


“The Metallica Blacklist” features the following tracks:


* Alessia Cara & The Warning – Enter Sandman

* Mac Demarco – Enter Sandman

* Ghost – Enter Sandman

* Juanes – Enter Sandman

 * Rina Sawayama – Enter Sandman

* Weezer – Enter Sandman

* Sam Fender – Sad But True (Live)

* Jason Isbell – Sad But True

* Mexican Institute Of Sound Feat. La Perla & Gera Mx – Sad But True

* Royal Blood – Sad But True

* St. Vincent – Sad But True

* White Reaper – Sad But True

* Yb – Sad But True

* Biffy Clyro – Holier Than Thou

* The Chats – Holier Than Thou

* Off! – Holier Than Thou

* Pup – Holier Than Thou

* Corey Taylor – Holier Than Thou

* Cage The Elephant – The Unforgiven

* Vishal Dadlani, Divine, Shor Police – The Unforgiven

* Diet Cig – The Unforgiven

* Flatbush Zombies Feat. Dj Scratch – The Unforgiven

* Ha*Ash – The Unforgiven

* José Madero – The Unforgiven

* Moses Sumney – The Unforgiven

* J Balvin – Wherever I May Roam

* Chase & Status Feat. Backroad Gee – Wherever I May Roam

* The Neptunes – Wherever I May Roam

* Jon Pardi – Wherever I May Roam

* Sebastian – Don’t Tread On Else Matters

* Portugal. The Man Feat. Aaron Beam – Don’t Tread On Me

* Volbeat – Don’t Tread On Me

* The Hu – Through The Never

* Tomi Owó – Through The Never

* Phoebe Bridgers – Nothing Else Matters

* Miley Cyrus Feat. Watt, Elton John, Yo-yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith – Nothing Else Matters

* Dave Gahan – Nothing Else Matters

* Mickey Guyton – Nothing Else Matters

* Dermot Kennedy – Nothing Else Matters

* Mon Laferte – Nothing Else Matters

* Igor Levit – Nothing Else Matters

* My Morning Jacket – Nothing Else Matters

* Pg Roxette – Nothing Else Matters

* Darius Rucker – Nothing Else Matters

* Chris Stapleton – Nothing Else Matters

* Tresor – Nothing Else Matters

* Goodnight, Texas – Of Wolf And Man

* Idles – The God That Failed

* Imelda May – The God That Failed

* Cherry Glazerr – My Friend Of Misery

* Izïa – My Friend Of Misery

* Kamasi Washington – My Friend Of Misery

* Rodrigo Y Gabriela – The Struggle Within


Back in 2017, Metallica announced that it was preparing deluxe remastered versions of its “…And Justice For All” (1988) and “Metallica” (1991) albums and reached out to its hardcore fans for help to get content for the new editions. “…And Justice For All” has since been reissued for its 30th anniversary in 2018.