Ulcerate Shares a New Single and Video “The Dawn Is Hollow” – New Album Incoming

Ulcerate, the New Zealand trio who Decibel Magazine hailed as “one of the most forward-thinking death metal bands around,” return with their highly-anticipated new album, Cutting the Throat of God, on June 14 via Debemur Morti Productions.
A preview of the seven-song album is available now with the release of “The Dawn Is Hollow” and its accompanying video at the link below:

Cutting the Throat of God was recorded in the fall of 2023, under the watchful eye of drummer Jamie Saint Merat, who also oversaw production and provided artist direction for the collection. Renowned mastering engineer Magnus Lindberg (known for his work with Cult of Luna, Russian Circles and Tribulation) put the finishing touches on the release. Cutting the Throat of God explores a cohesive lyrical theme centered around the rupture of morality, the delicate boundary between depravity and extremity, and the irreversible descent into darkness.

Album pre-orders including limited-edition vinyl variants are available now: https://bfan.link/cutting-the-throat-of-god. Cutting the Throat of God is also available on CD and digitally.

Ulcerate’s previous album, Stare Into Death And Be Still, arrived in April of 2020, landing on multiple year-end lists, with Stereogum saying, in their Top 10 Metal Albums of 2020, that the album possessed a “meditative calm that comes from the balance of blasting, screaming, and just enough melody to wash it down.” Brooklyn Vegan, also in their year-end, best of piece, added: “There’s no band quite like New Zealand’s Ulcerate… embracing melody through death metal with open arms, all while riding the line between mind-blowing instrumental prowess and pitch black ambiance.”

Death Is Little More cover

Cutting the Throat of God tracklist:
1. To Flow Through Ashen Hearts
2. The Dawn is Hollow
3. Further Opening the Wounds
4. Transfiguration In and Out of Worlds
5. To See Death Just Once
6. Undying as an Apparition
7. Cutting the Throat of God


Photo courtesy of Ulcerate

Ulcerate is guitarist Michael Hoggard, drummer Jamie Saint Merat and bassist/vocalist Paul Kelland. The band has released six albums: Stare Into Death And Be Still (2020), Shrines Of Paralysis (2016), Vermis (2013), The Destroyers Of All (2011), Everything Is Fire (2009) and Of Fracture And Failure (2007).