The HU Drop New Instrumental Version of Their Debut Album “The Gereg” – Out Now

Mongolian heavy metal band, The HU, have released a fully instrumental companion album to their debut release, The Gereg, which originally came out in 2019. The Gereg – Instrumentals is out now across digital streaming platforms. Keep reading in the article below for more about the album and the band.

Stream The Gereg – Instrumentals here.

Gala from the band says, “The Gereg album is the first album that introduced the Hunnu Rock genre to the world and introduced us to the world. In both the deluxe and the original album of our first album, we used many different instruments and pieces. Therefore, releasing the instrumentals of the album makes me very happy and fulfilled. I am sure our fans will enjoy listening to all the different sounds.

The Gereg – Instrumentals includes 12 tracks of their unique and powerful music in an instrumental only version.  This album, digitally remastered in Dolby ATMOS, transports the listener with an all-new listening experience for this incredibly unique music from Mongolia. Highlights include both the original and deluxe versions of “Wolf Totem”, “Yuve Yuve Yu” , and “Song of Women”.

The Gereg – Instrumentals tracklisting:
01 The Gereg (Instrumental)
02 Wolf Totem (Instrumental)
03 The Great Chinggis Khaan (Instrumental)
04 The Legend of Mother Swan (Instrumental)
05 Shoog Shoog (Instrumental)
06 The Same (Instrumental)
07 Yuve Yuve Yu (Instrumental)
08 Shireg Shireg (Instrumental)
09 The Song of Women (Instrumental)

More from The HU:
Founded in 2016 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, The HU—comprised of producer Dashka along with members Gala, Jaya, Temka, and Enkush—are a modern rock group rooted in the tradition of their homeland. The band’s name translates to the Mongolian root word for “human being,” and their unique approach blends instruments like the Morin Khuur (horsehead fiddle), Tovshuur (Mongolian guitar), Tumur Khuur (jaw harp) and throat singing with contemporary sounds, creating a unique sonic profile that they call “Hunnu Rock.”

Their debut album, 2019 ‘s The Gereg, debuted at #1 on the World Album and Top New Artist Charts while receiving critical acclaim from the likes of Billboard, and even Sir Elton John. Their appeal was instantly recognized globally with sold-out tours across the world in North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia and acknowledged by their home country who awarded them Mongolia’s highest state award, The Order of Genghis Khan, which was granted to the band by the President of Mongolia, Kh. Battulga in 2020.

A deluxe version of The Gereg included collaborations with Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach and Lizzy Hale of Halestorm, and caught the attention of Metallica, who heard their Mongolian rendition of “Sad But True,” and then enlisted them to take part on their Metallica Blacklist album, released in 2021 with The HU’s cover of “Through The Never” alongside other high-profile guest artists like Miley Cyrus, Chris Stapleton, Phoebe Bridgers, J Balvin, St. Vincent and many more. The band was also made “canon” in the Star Wars fandom after they wrote and recorded an original song for EA GamesStar Wars Jedi: Fallen Order which was featured in its gameplay.

The Hu released their second album Rumble of Thunder while continuing to tour across the globe, adding in dates in Japan and festival appearances at Coachella, Lollapalooza, Download and more. In November of 2022, The HU became the first-ever rock/metal band to receive the prestigious UNESCO “Artist of Peace” designation at UNESCO’s headquarters in Paris, FR by UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay. Previous recipients include Celine Dion, Shirley Bassey, Sarah Brightman, Herbie Hancock, Marcus Miller and World Orchestra For Peace. To date, The HU have accumulated hundreds of millions of combined streams and video views.

Follow The HU: