The Eternal (Amorphis) Share Their Single and Video “When The Fire Dies” – Album Out Soon

Finnish-Australian metal quartet, The Eternal, recently released their new track, “When The Fire Dies,” with a music video. It continues the thematic journey of the first single, “Deathlike Silence,” with both tracks taken from the band’s upcoming album, Skinwalker, set for release on June 28th via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM) records. Check out the new track and more below.

Stream/buy “When The Fire Dies” here:
Pre-order/pre-save Skinwalker here:

Drummer Jan Rechberger (Amorphis) notes, “Imbued with an ethereal quality, Mark [Kelson]’s vocals serve as a beacon of hope amidst the dense and atmospheric soundscape. His haunting delivery adds layers of complexity, evoking a sense of vulnerability and introspection.

Lyrically, “When The Fire Dies” confronts the profound emotions of loss and confusion that accompany the gradual drift between two individuals. The song serves as a cathartic expression of grief, delving into the raw and tumultuous journey of acceptance and letting go.” adds mastermind Mark Kelson.

Graced by the stellar performances of Dutch cellist Elianne Anemaat (Celestial Season) and Russian vocalist Emily Saaen, a long-time collaborator of the group, the band’s third single delves deeper into the doom aspects of their sound, crafting a slow-burning and emotionally charged narrative. The poetic storytelling of the track is accompanied by a band video of haunting beauty, scripting the transformation and renewal amidst the ashes of fading flames.

Watch the previously released videos for “Deathlike Silence” ( and “Skinwalker” (

Skinwalker promises a continuation of the band’s rich musical legacy but is also set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (Amorphis), Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator), and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) to name a few. Skinwalker was recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger‘s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson and Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate. The record was also mixed by Kelson and Rechberger at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (Opeth, Amorphis).

The distinctive sound of The Eternal is a fusion of dark, melancholic, and emotive metal with influences from both doom and progressive genres. The most recent incarnation of the band includes Jan Rechberger (Amorphis) and Niclas Etelävuori (ex-Amorphis, Flat Earth) along with long-time members Mark Kelson and Richie Poate. The Eternal have evolved into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, Australia, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland.

Album formats:
Digipak CD
Transparent/Black Marbled 2xLP
Digital (“When The Fire Dies,” “Skinwalker,” and “Deathlike Silence” instant access)

The Eternal:
Mark Kelson – vocals, guitars
Richie Poate – guitars
Niclas Etelävuori – bass
Jan Rechberger – drums, percussion

Follow The Eternal: