Helfró Share “Ildi Óhreins Anda” Single and Video – New Album Coming Soon

Iceland’s Helfró are back with “Ildi Óhreins Anda,” the second single off their sophomore album. Translating to “Oxygen for the Unclean Spirit”, focuses on “humanity’s exceptional ability to deceive.” The full-length, Tálgröf, is due out December 01st via Season of Mist records. Check out the video visualizer (by Jeffrey V. Daniels) and more in the article below.


The lyrics for this song revolve specifically about lying,” says drummer and vocalist Ragnar Sverrisson. “How lying to others can benefit your cause and help throw people off the trail as you plan to do them harm, and how lying is a right that the manipulator should exercise whenever they can. Lying is the foundation of their success, the oxygen that they breathe to survive.”


Tálgröf tracklisting:

01 Jarteikn (3:30)

02 Fláráð Fræði (4:01) (watch)

03 Fangelsaður í Tilvist að Eilífu (3:48)

04 Þögnin Ytra, Kyrrðin Innra (4:43)

05 Guðlegt Réttlæti (5:13)

06 Sindur (2:28)

07 Ildi Óhreins Anda (3:58) (watch)

08 Traðkandi Blómin í Eigin Hjartagarði (3:21)

09 Minning um Morðingja (4:23)

Total: 35:25


Available Formats:

CD digipak


12” vinyl in various colours



Recording Studio – Dominion Recordings

Sound Engineer – Simon Thorolfsson

Mixing Engineer – Mark Lewis

Mastering Engineer – Mark Lewis

Cover art:Grindesign


More from Helfró:

Formed amidst the haunting landscapes of Iceland, Helfró is a formidable force in the world of blackened death metal. With their relentless aggression, atmospheric soundscapes, and compelling songwriting, they have carved their own path in the metal scene.


The journey of Helfró began when guitarist and songwriter Ragnar Sverrisson sought to bring his musical visions to life, Drawing inspiration from the bleakness of Icelandic winters, the mysticism of nature, and the chaos of the human experience. Helfró’s debut album, aptly titled Helfró, was released in 2020, marking the band’s official entry into the world of extreme metal. With a relentless barrage of blast beats, crushing riffs, and haunting melodies, the album showcased their ability to seamlessly blend aggression and atmosphere.


Evolving with the advent of the sophomore album, Tálgröf, listeners can expect even more ferocity as Helfró dives deeper into death metal territory while not straying to far from the signature ice-cold climactic tremolo riffing notable of their previous work. Characterized by its ferocity, the new album also carries introspective and thought-provoking themes, reflecting the band members’ willingness to explore the depths of the human experience.


Helfró is destined to leave an impact on the realm of extreme music, captivating audiences with their unique brand of Icelandic metal.



Ragnar Sverrisson: Drums, Vocals, Songwriting

Simon Thorolfsson: Guitars, Bass, Vocals, Arrangements


Follow Helfró: