Grumpster Share Single and Video for “Wither” Announcing New Album

Bay Area punks, Grumpster, have just shared their brand new single and video, “Wither.” This comes in sync with the announcement that their self-titled, third album will be out 26th April 2024, via Pure Noise Records. Keep reading below to check out the new track and read more from the band.

Pre-order Grumpster here.

Speaking about the new album the band said “Grumpster is an album mostly about mental health. It’s about the ebbs and flows of mental health, depression, anxiety, love, physical health, etc. This collection of songs is all about lived experiences, feelings, emotions, and how it felt to exist in general over the past couple of years.

Adding about new single “Wither,” “Over the past few years I developed some pretty intense issues with my appetite and eating in general and it was really starting to take its toll. I felt my body and brain getting weaker and it really felt like I was starting to wither away, hence the song.

Grumpster tracklisting:
01 Wither
02 Just For Fun
03 SSBpt2
04 Sun
05 Bern Needs His Meds
06 Bottom Feeder
07 Grey
08 Thorns
09 Bran’s Motto
10 Bone$
11 Waste

More from Grumpster:
Growing up in Salem, Massachusetts, with Green Day’s Dookie in heavy rotation, Donnie Walsh (bass/vocals) learned guitar on his own and fell hard for East Bay punk in all forms. In 2015, as a teenager, he plotted a trip out to San Francisco with a friend, scoping out the stages where bands like Operation Ivy and Crimpshine got their starts. Soon after returning home, Walsh bought a one-way ticket and decamped west permanently, picking up odd-end jobs, including at Guitar Center, to pay the bills.

Within a few months, Walsh crossed paths with Lalo Gonzalez Deetz, a guitarist from nearby Albany in whom they found a kindred spirit. Impossibly, when the pair got together to jam, they discovered they’d written near-identical songs, down to the chord progressions. Scouring the scene for a drummer who could match their preternaturally shared tempo, Walsh and Deetz eventually got in touch with Noel Agtane, a Bay Area native who’d drummed around town, across church bands, indie-alt group Oh My Heart, and pop-punk band Triples Alley. After getting a sample of his intimidating blast beats, the pair asked him to slow it down and were rewarded with the steady, studied, powerhouse percussion they’d been hearing in their heads all along. Since the release of their album Fever Dream the band have added guitarist Alex Hernandez.

Grumpster have been on one long upswing, four fast friends crafting rambunctious, mosh-ready, deliciously deadpan punk that they say stays friendly despite its edge – smiling big means showing some teeth, after all.

Grumpster are:
Donnie Walsh – Bass and vocals
Lalo Gonzalez Deetz – Guitar
Alex Hernandez – Guitar
Noel Agtane – Drums

Follow Grumpster: