EXCLUSIVE VIDEO PREMIERE: Statues Share a New Single and Lyric Video – “Dead of Summer”


Swedish post-Punk and Alternative Rock power trio Statues will release their new album Black Arcs Rising on May 5th, 2023 via Lövely Records. The band’s new single “Dead of Summer” is a throwback punky track with a fist-in-your-face profile of angular riffs and attitude. The lyric video is straight out of the movie Office Space. Who knows what the tipping point was, but it was the last day of work at this office, any way you cut it. Watch the video here at Ghost Cult and pre-order the album below. 



Pre-order the album here:



The band comments:

“This song describes the future apocalypse of northern Sweden, unclear what it contained. Like most other songs, it paints pictures of what happens after a societal collapse. Our good friend the artist Ludwig Franzén created a series of paintings with a future Umeå as a motif a number of years ago. At first glance, the University Hospital looks normal, but if you look closer you see that roads have been overgrown and survivors who may not still be alive have built passages to avoid the dangers of the ground. His paintings inspired the text that paints pictures of our city, where an unknown external threat wipes out civilization. The external threat can be environmental destruction, capitalism, zombies or aliens – the listener decides.”

Track Listing:
1. Underground
2. Chemicals
3. Sardonic Grin
4. Agony (YUNG LEAN cover)
5. Phantasm
6. Eyes in the Sky
7. Hiding in a Hole
8. Meteorology
9. Dead of Summer
10. Epochalypse
11. Perfect Storm
12. Bestiary



The Swedish power-trio Statues delve into cross-genre realms bringing post-punk, rock and alternative elements into their diverse sound. “Agony” is the first new music release from the alternative rock group since their 2020 album Holocene, ahead of the album Black Arcs Rising. 


Statues is:

Johan Sellman – Vocals, Guitar

Magnus Egerbladh Öberg – Drums

Henrik Wiklund – Bass, vocals 



Recorded at Svenska Grammofonstudion in Gothenbur

Produced and mixed by Christian Ramirez who also adds additional guitar on the tracks “Perfect Storm”, “Sardonic Grin”, and “Eyes in the Sky”.

Mastered by Magnus Lindberg.

The album features guest vocals by PER STÅLBERG on “Phantasm”, “Dead of Summer”, and “Hiding in a Hole”

Art direction by Joel Dunkels. 



The album will be available on all streaming platforms and in two color variants on vinyl; transparent green vinyl with red splatter, and solid white vinyl.