Courtney Gains Releases New Album “Safe Haven”

Horror icon Courtney Gains has just released his newest album, Safe Haven. Perhaps best known for his role as Malachi in the 1984 classic Children of the Corn, Gains demonstrates a departure from that onscreen persona with an album that blends stripped-down and straightforward rock vibes with folk-informed sensibilities. Find out more below.


Buy Safe Haven here.


The album is intimately Gains, with lyrics that give his sarcastic and darkly humorous take on today’s world. The singer-songwriter does not mince words when commenting on the inspiration for Safe Haven, “To me, this record is about calling bullshit on some things I think are really fucked up out there!


Safe Haven track listing:

01 Safe Haven

02 The Healer

03 Big Brother

04 Bills In Space

05 Look Out

06 Good Times


Safe Haven was written, recorded, and produced by Courtney Gains.


More about Courtney Gains:

Courtney Gains has appeared on screen with some of the biggest names in Hollywood, but his musical pedigree is equally impressive. Courtney first hit the LA music scene in the 90s with his band The Gathering, which was a part of the coffee house/unplugged scene. In 1999, Gains put out a solo record featuring the song “Journey Man.” The song was produced by Guns n’ Roses drummer Matt Sorum, with Slash on lead guitar. The critically-acclaimed tune was in heavy rotation on college radio. In 2006, he fronted the band Benny Bliss and the Disciples of Greatness, which spun off a rock and roll anti-technology road comedy film.


In November 2009, Ripple Street was formed with Courtney on guitar and vocals. Once satisfied with the original material they worked up, Ripple Street recorded their first EP in 2012. In 2017, the band put out their first full-length LP. Working with such musicians as Derek O’Brien of Social Distortion (drums), Michael Hatley, and Greg Hetson of Bad Religion (guitars), the ‘cruise grunge’ sound was born.


Courtney recently worked with Bruce Kulick (KISS) and Doug Blair (W.A.S.P.) on Dreams in The Witch House – an HP Lovecraft-ian metal rock opera. In 2021 Gains put out an acoustic five-song EP, Acoustic Gains Vol. 1. Several of Gains’ songs were featured in films.


Courtney is now set to release his latest EP Safe Haven, a six-song rock n’ roller featuring music used in the Benny Bliss film, along with three new creations. All songs on Safe Haven were written and performed by Gains. In 2024, his group – a rock trio with Gains on bass and lead vocals – plans to tour in support of the record. The tour will coincide with the 40th anniversary of Children of the Corn and his iconic character Malachi. Many appearances are being planned, some of which will show the film in 35mm, followed by a Q&A and a live performance by Gains and his band.


With more than 130 credits on his acting resume, Gains achieved success during the 1980s with a variety of roles in films such as Children of the Corn, Hardbodies, Lust in the Dust, Back to the Future, Can’t Buy Me Love, Secret Admirer, Colors, The ‘Burbs, and Memphis Belle. Later films include Sweet Home Alabama, Dorm Daze (which he also executive-produced), Desolation Canyon, and a cameo in Rob Zombie‘s Halloween remake.


In addition to his film work, Gains appeared in the video games Wing Commander III: Heart of the Tiger, LA Noire and guest-starred on episodes of various television series, including Seinfeld, Monk, In the Heat of the Night, ER, JAG, Nash Bridges, Diagnosis: Murder, Charmed, Alias and My Name is Earl.


Most recently, Gains voiced the role of Labrat on GTA: Los Santos Drug Wars, a two-part online video game. He also stars as Twig, a banjo-playing militia member in the 2023 action horror The Wrath of Becky, which premiered at SXSW this year.



Courtney Gains – Vocals, Electric Guitar, Electric Bass, Acoustic Guitar (on “Look Out”)

Guy Wallis – Additional Guitars, Lead Guitar, Keyboards

Christopher Angeletti – Drums and Cymbals

“The Healer” Horns – Lyn Mckenna (Saxophone) and Anthony Lacivita (Trumpet)


Follow Courtney Gains: