Cognitive Share a Single and Video for “Abhorrence” – New Album Coming Soon

Technical death metal troupe, Cognitive, have just shared their latest single and video, “Abhorrence.” It is also the title track is of their newly announced fifth full-length, set for release on May 17th on Metal Blade Records, following on from 2021‘s Malevolent Thoughts Of A Hastened Extinction. In May, the band hits the road with PaRtY-CaNnOn in Europe. Keep reading below for the new video and more.

Pre-order Abhorrence here.

Cognitive started work on Abhorrence while touring in support of Malevolent Thoughts Of A Hastened Extinction, sending tracks back and forth while trekking from one intense gig to the next. “There were riffs and ideas that didn’t make Malevolent Thoughts…,” notes guitarist Rob Wharton. “We just kept toiling away with it. And then we recorded the ’Rot Eternal‘ single in between touring. So, it’s been just nonstop writing.

Drummer AJ Viana has his own studio (he‘s previously worked with bands as prestigious as Hath) and recorded, tracked, and mixed the album, before Ryan Williams (The Black Dahlia Murder, John Frum) at Metal Blade Records mastered it. To the album‘s immense benefit, it was a collaborative process and everyone brought their A game.

Abhorrence is an exercise in aural turbulence, each track taking its listener on a magnificently traumatic journey. “Our lyrics for this record are all over the place,” says Wharton. “There’s some stuff about video games and addiction and mental health. To me, that‘s the kind of subject matter that hits home because everyone’s got stuff going on in their lives. It’s relatable.

Relatable much like the album title itself. Peer at the state of the world in recent years and “abhorrence” seems like an entirely appropriate word. “We were going through all the song titles and wondering which is the strongest song,” Wharton says. “We decided to go with Abhorrence. Everyone’s so mean and cruel to each other and the world is terrible. We just felt like it kind of encompassed everything. We had put a lot of time into that one specifically because there are so many repeating parts, but it was mostly about depression, anxiety attacks and mental health.

The title track also serves as the record‘s opener and first single. Wharton elaborates, ““Abhorrence” is a groove-filled song with a melodic chorus. Heavily syncopated drums make every chug hit harder and harder. It‘s a song filled with tension and aggressive vocal patterns screaming about anxiety, panic, and depression all at once.

Abhorrence tracklisting:
01 Abhorrence
02 Insidious
03 A Pact Unholy
04 Ivory Tower
05 As The Light Fades
06 Savor The Suffering
07 Containment Breach
08 Rorschach
09 Psychopathy
10 Cold Dead Hands

Abhorrence finds the New Jersey powerhouse quintet at its brutal best. Unrelenting riffs leave the listener stunned, while a wave of thoughtful, devastating lyrics washes over. The album is a raging, draining, and ultimately fulfilling experience. It will be released on CD and digital formats as well as vinyl in the following color variants:
Crimson Void (US retail)
Gilded Abyss (EU + US Metal Blade Webstore – Ltd. 400)

Cognitive w/ PaRtY-CaNnOn
5.03.24 Hamburg, DE @ Bambi Galore
5.05.24 Copenhagen, DK @ Stengade
5.07.24 Essen, DE @ Don‘t Panic
5.08.24 Charleroi, BE @ MCP Apache
5.09.24 Aarau, CH @ KiFF Foyer
5.10.24 Augsburg, DE @ Ballonfabrik
5.12.24 Darmstadt, DE @ Steinbruch Theater
5.13.24 Erfurt, DE @ VEB Bandhaus
5.14.24 Osnabrück, DE @ Bastard Club
5.15.24 Kortrijk, BE @ De Verlichte Geest
5.16.24 Alkmaar, NL @ The Scrapyard
5.17.24 Eindhoven, NL @ Dynamo
5.18.24 Arnhem, NL Willemeen

Rob Wharton – Guitars
Harry Lannon – Guitars
Shane Jost – Vocals
Tyler Capone-Vitale – Bass
AJ Viana – Drums

Follow Cognitive: